Main Series

Remembering Animal Crossing: New Leaf

As I promised, I would share ideas on spin-offs, but right now, it’s too early to share them. It’s only been in stores for a week, even if it’s very active at this time and age. amiibo cards are being sold out too soon, the HHN challenge got over 10,000 entries on Day One, and discussions on this game are really big at this time. I even already published a FAQ on GameFAQs, but timewise, this game is still too new. Instead, I’ll do a tribute to the biggest Animal Crossing game so far.

The GameCube version may have started the series while Wild World revolutionized it, but New Leaf was the epic game of Animal Crossing. Even though Happy Home Designer was better when it comes to interior decorating, ACNL is still king of the series. The reason being is that it was the first game where you got to design your town the way you like it. It also had dream town sharing, QR codes, refurbishing, and more features than ever. At the same time, it had its own problems, as well as the sea basses people keep complaining about.

Kaylee 01

I played Animal Crossing: New Leaf for only two years. On my first year, I enjoyed it a lot, but I didn’t have a really nice town at all. My first two towns were Westport and Belcroft. I didn’t like Westport at all. I do like Belcroft, but judging by the layout, it wasn’t good enough for a dream town, so I ended up deleting it. StarFall was my third and best town. I intended it to be an all girls’ town. I was going to have two towns before creating StarFall, but I decided that I could do only one. I went for the all girls’ town. My second year, more typically the summer of 2014, was when I worked hard on my town of StarFall. If you want to see what I did on my town, then click here. It took me three months to make it, but that was all through time traveling. I even journalized what I did in StarFall. Take a look at my blog on Bell Tree, the StarFall Press. I had 20 entries related to my town and how I progressed that whole summer. In addition, I decided on Kaylee’s character development. You might want to read this to see who she is based after.

Kaylee 02

Yes, that is my mayor, Kaylee. The most recent fact is that she was Andrea’s former boss and her (Andrea’s) personal interior design student.

What I enjoyed most about ACNL was the mayoral features. I was able to have the Nookling’s stores open past 12:00 AM, as well as placing the projects wherever I placed them. On my first town, I didn’t know too much about the game, and there were a few things that pushed me to deleting it before I ultimately deleted it. Ferry (my first ACNL character) was the mayor, but Kaylee was my best character, so I recreated her for my two future towns, and as the mayor. Even if I’m male, I enjoy playing female characters more.

The following six pictures have visions from all six rooms in Kaylee’s house in StarFall (aka the Space Castle). You might want to click on them for a full view:

The lobby, also the first room in the Space Castle.
The lobby, also the first room in the Space Castle.
The Lab, which is the left wing of the Space Castle.
The Lab, which is the left wing of the Space Castle.
The back room, which looks like a spaceship showcase.
The back room, which looks like a spaceship showcase.
The right wing of the Space Castle had a futuristic guest room.
The right wing of the Space Castle had a futuristic guest room.
Upstairs is Kaylee's bedroom. She likes the sci-fi theme, so her bedroom is futuristic.
Upstairs is Kaylee’s bedroom. She likes the sci-fi theme, so her bedroom is futuristic.
The basement is a space-themed arcade.
The basement is a space-themed arcade.

I have a few more, but these are the pictures I’m going to use. As you see, I am very good at interior decorating, and this was just the beginning. Unfortunately, after six months of having StarFall, it wasn’t as good as it once was, and I continued beating it to death for six more months. Eventually, I had to come to a stop. At least this town is still alive and over a year old, but I’m no longer going to play ACNL. But it was still fun. Granted, it may not sound as fun since I was playing ACHHD for a while now, but it’s still the best of the main series. If only the next regular AC game had the same kind of interior decorating ACHHD has.

Kaylee 03

Another thing I did in ACNL was that I designed clothes to share. One reason why I joined Bell Tree is to share the QR codes I made in-game. The paths – people liked them. The winter coats – not so much. If you want to use them in ACNL or ACHHD, here are the codes for the winter coats:

My first winter coat I made in ACNL.
My first winter coat I made in ACNL.
This is Penny's favorite winter coat, as well as Andrea's.
This is Penny’s favorite winter coat, as well as Andrea’s.
This is Kaylee's winter coat. It was part of one of her main outfits.
This is Kaylee’s winter coat. It was part of one of her main outfits.
This is Jenny's favorite winter coat.
This is Jenny’s favorite winter coat.

I scribed all four of them to my copy of ACHHD. Now Andrea can dress up like any of the three girls.

I remembered back when I made StarFall, I used to journalize everything I did, until I published my dream town for the first time. A few weeks after publishing my dream town, I joined Bell Tree, to share how I made StarFall, as well as some game ideas.

That is all I can say, but I wanted to make a quick tribute to ACNL. Here’s one last picture:

StarFall's very first PWP, the fountain. This was also Kaylee's house before renovation.
StarFall’s very first PWP, the fountain. This was also Kaylee’s house before renovation.
Leave a Reply

